Old Topic

Way back here, I commented on a book I used to like, Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom. I got a new comment on it last night, from Mai, who has a very cool blog about books, and grad school, and elementary school book fairs. Seems I missed the part in the Northrup’s book where she also tells us that we give birth prematurely because we don’t like being pregnant and don’t like gaining weight. I don’t need to tell you all what I exclaimed when I read that! *%*$*$*!

Mai, I’m glad you threw the book away and realize she’s full of [more words I don’t want to write in public].

14 responses to “Old Topic

  1. You are kidding me. There is really a book out there that says that!! A book intended to help women understand and appreciate their bodies no less?!?! Please, please tell me you are kidding.

    Horrifying.

  2. Oh, Lori, I wish that I were.

  3. Lori, I wish it was a joke. I don’t recall exactly what she said or how she said it, the the gist of it was that I (because you tend to personalize these things) had my baby early because I didn’t like what pregnancy was doing to my body. The toxemia was MY FAULT.

    I didn’t need this after being told by a woman at La Leche league that I was a bad parent for not pumping twice in the night and that the NICU nurses would sabotage my every attempt to breastfeed.

    I believed it for a little while until I decided the book was toxic and threw it away. BEST thing I ever did.

    I am not sure if this is really what she said or just my interpretation of it – but I don’t intend to get the book again and find out.

  4. Mai- That is just horrible. How can any intelligent, feeling human being even begin to think such a thing?? I’m sure she also thinks people give themselves cancer!

    It never ceases to amaze me the things that some people find appropriate to say. I imagine your experience in the NICU was traumatic enough without having someone dump more baggage on you. Sheesh!

    I would have done just about anything to keep my twins safely tucked inside until they could be born safely. I refuse to give even a moment of my time worrying about some deranged woman’s idea that I somehow *caused* their premature births and deaths.

  5. What an extremely bizarre and completely unhelpful idea. Not to mention one that has no basis in reality.
    Why someone would write something like that beyond me.

  6. Oh yes, Lori, she may very well believe that. I went back to her section on ovaries because I remembered getting the book because when I had one painful cyst, I found her ideas romantic. Here’s a tidbit, “One of my patients deve.loped a fib.roid tum.or of the ute.rus and an ovar.ian cyst when she was forty. I asked her if her need for creat.ivity was being met….” And lo and behold she was cured! She even has a little chart in the back where you can figure out what diseases (including breast cancer, anovulation, and ovarian cancer) match what emotion.

    I found the idea attractive when I had a minor problem. But now that one of my dearly loved friends has tumors on her ovaries, now that I see online friends struggling with infertility, and now that I know what it means to have my body deliver my son to his death, mmmm, her words are not so warm and fuzzy.

    I believe we can make ourselves sick, but I don’t believe that happens to the extreme many of us have suffered. And I don’t freaking believe women kill their babies with their minds. I wouldn’t care at all about her book if I didn’t believe these kinds of ideas hurt people.

  7. Oh, and I checked her book via Amazon because I certainly don’t still own it.

  8. Wow, sounds a lot like George Osawa’s macrobiotic diet, who would probably say that women who have problems with their ovaries or premature birth have too much yin (or is it yang?) in their bodies.

  9. Sara- I should add that I completely agree that there are people who choose to live in certain ways that put them at risk for developing some serious problems. Absolutely there is an element of personal responsibility to our health.

    But the idea that the root of prematurity is some sort of neurosis in pregnant women, or that it could be prevented by engaging in more creative activity, is so maddening. I agree with you, these ideas could really hurt some women.

  10. LeRoy Dissing

    She sounds like she is writing in the past century. What I am getting from the post and the comments is that this woman author is writing “old wives’ tales” – not to be believed because of some legendary fable.

  11. Holy mackerel, what utter and complete crap. And this woman claims to be a doctor?? Where’d she get her medical degree, Cancun?

    Maybe you should leave a comment on Amazon so that potential buyers of the book are, uh, aware. Perhaps Amazon should bundle this book with something like ‘the Secret’….which by the way i ALSO have not had the pleasure of reading, and think i will skip, thank you very much…

  12. I thought maybe I had a poor memory so I started to see what references I could find to Northrup and toxemia. Well would you look at this:

    http://www2.drnorthrup.com/womens-health-birthing.php

    I just cannot believe there aren’t more people refuting this sort of information. Take this: “When women learn to get in touch with their inner guidance systems, they can keep their babies safer and possibly even interrupt premature labor or halt the progression of toxemia.”

    I just don’t understand how this is HELPFUL to anyone who is pregnant, and I KNOW how hurtful it is to those of us who had troubles or loss.

    But I know people who COMPLETELY BUY into this sort of thing. And it makes me mental. What happened to me wasn’t my fault! I didn’t do anything ‘wrong’ and I really resent the implication that I did.

    Nowadays it is a bit better, but 12 years ago, when premature birth wasn’t quite as frequent, lots of people just assumed I did something REALLY BAD. This sort of garbage doesn’t help.

  13. Wow, Mai, that’s awful. Just just awful. It bothers me for the same reason it does you. Maybe we should do as Kate suggests and write reviews on Amazon? But who knows how it would be perceived.

  14. Good God! I’ve heard of this woman before but never read any of her books. It sounds like it’s a good thing I haven’t.

    Ugh and double ugh.

Leave a Reply

