Anxiety wins again

First off – every thing’s fine. No one panic.

Yesterday I was just sitting here happily working away on a map depicting population density in the US in 1840 (I know you’re all dying to see that), when at about noon a teeny tiny bit of blood made an appearance. It was really a very very small dot. I told myself it was probably old and shaken off by a violent morning sickness episode in the late morning, but after waiting out the office’s lunch hour (I didn’t think it necessary to call the doctor-on-call directly during her or his lunch hour) I realized my nerves wouldn’t be calmed unless I called. The nurse said it was probably fine but that I should come in when it was convenient just to check things out. Right then was fine so off we went.

Dr. K wasn’t in the office so we saw Dr. P, who was perfectly nice, but Dr. K is even nicer. He checked everything out, baby looks great, cervix is closed and long, he saw no blood whatsoever. So it’s all fine. Nothing to worry about.

This ultrasound the baby actually looked like a baby – a head not so remarkably larger than the body, two arms, two legs, a hint of a face. Someone will ask, so I’ll tell you we’re still weeks away from seeing if we have a boy or a girl.

Now I can breathe again until early Friday….

15 responses to “Anxiety wins again

  1. That must have been very scary, and I’m VERY happy to hear everything is ok.

  2. PHEW!!! I appreciate you starting right off with telling us that all is well.

    Good for you for being so vigilant and not ignoring a single sign. I’m glad you have a doctor’s office that shares your high level of caution.

    And it’s also fun you got to see the baby!

  3. I am relieved to know everything is okay. I’m glad the practice you’re at gets you in to see the doctor ASAP when you call and does an ultrasound to make sure everything is fine.

    Good luck on Friday!

  4. It’s good to hear that everything’s all right (well, except for the violent morning sickness).

    A 1840s population density map? Very very cool. And you know I mean that.

  5. Oh, thank goodness, you had me for a second. Isn’t bleeding crazy making? And don’t you just love U/S?

  6. I’m SO glad everything is okay with you and baby! Sounds like you have an excellent doctor’s office that takes your concerns seriously and reassures you with something as concrete as an exam and an ultrasound (to me, this should be the norm, but we’ve all heard and lived the horror stories before…).

  7. I’m so glad everything turned out fine. I’ll keep you in my thoughts this Friday!

  8. That was remarkable restraint. I would have been at the office in 5 minutes flat.
    Very happy to hear all’s ok. Crossing fingers for Friday.

  9. LeRoy Dissing

    Glad to hear everything is going well and on schedule Sara! The hair thing still has me wondering though πŸ™‚

  10. Thrilled to hear that all is well!!

  11. Even a dot of blood is still scary. It is such a good thing that you are being cared for by a doctor that is at such a caring and attentive practice.

    I’ve been thinking about you as Friday draws closer and will continue to send good thoughts.

  12. Whew, very scary….so glad all is OK! Will be thinking of you on friday…

  13. It’s great that your doctor is so willing to get you in when you need to see someone. MUCH better to be safe! I’m glad to hear that everything is looking good πŸ™‚

  14. LeRoy Dissing

    I am glad you got it checked out for a number of reasons…and am glad everything is progressing smoothly. Mostly glad you are listening to your body.

  15. I’m thinking of you and am hoping everything goes nice and easy for you tomorrow morning.

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

