Good signs

I really don’t hate babies or successful pregnancies!

Someone I know had a baby last week. I had heard she was past her due date as of the 4th of July. I know that that can be normal, but anything risky with pregnancy freaks me out. Other people laugh about babies coming late, and feel bad for the pregnant woman’s prolonged suffering. Of course I didn’t come close to being overdue (and wouldn’t it be a great irony if I have to be induced this time?) but now I’m more familiar with risks of all kinds. So, more than lamenting the extra days of aching back, indigestion, and being horribly hot, I was holding my breath and trying to banish thoughts of meconium and dysmaturity.

The baby arrived after more than a day-long labor and eventual c-section. There were some complications for mom and baby afterwards, but now they’re both okay and at home now. I am so freaking relieved to hear that I can hardly keep the tears from running down my cheeks.
And more than anything, I want to meet and hold the baby and just be grateful that he’s here.

Oiy why can’t the stork just bring babies?

11 responses to “Good signs

  1. I know this is kind of serious post, but I had to laugh at your last line.

    Why not storks? Because then we’d all be worried about global warming hurting the storks!

    Or about storks delivering to the wrong address!

    Or whether the babies should be carried in carseats in the beaks for safety!

    (chuckle)

  2. I’m glad to hear that baby and mom are safe and healthy. I also worry like you do. My online support for most of the first year of my grieving was at a stillbirth site so now I know all about cord accidents, placental abruption, infections, and a dozen other “rare” things that happen to real people.

    Your last line and Aurelia’s comments gave me a good laugh as well.

  3. I always think that other people are mysteriously unconcerned about all the things that could go wrong with a pregnancy.

    But then I tell myself that, actually, I’m the one with the distorted view of reality and that the things I worry about are really very rare and they aren’t made any more common by the fact that one of them happened to me.

  4. LeRoy Dissing

    Why does the “rare” have to happen to anyone? It is very sad.

  5. I am also glad to know the new mom and baby are doing well.

    I ditto your last comment…then again Aurelia’s comments do make me have second thoughts.:)

  6. I always let out a big sigh of relief when someone pops one out without a hitch-almost like I had been holding my breath all day…but then that feeling of relief is replaced with sadness that “I” had to be the rarity in the statistic. Sometimes I tally up all the pregnancies I know of right now and wonder if any one of them will be the oddity as well, or if the luck of the draw will shine on them.
    Twisted.
    But it’s good that mom and baby are doing well. Isn’t it always good?

  7. About storks: In a textbook I’m reading (for work) on quantitative social research, the author presented data showing that there are higher birth rates in places that have more storks. Of course, this was a spurious correlation, because when he grouped the data by rural/urban, he found that the places with more storks were rural, which accounted for the high birth rates. I think it was a hypothetical example, but still cute 🙂

  8. I was joking Aurelia so it’s okay to laugh.

    Exactly, Niobe.

    Emily, that’s really funny. You’re a statistics whiz now.

  9. I’m glad the mother and child are doing well. I talk about hating all pregnant women, but not really either. The woman who teaches in the classroom next to me delivered a healthy baby boy and while it was hard for me, I prayed for her daily (and I don’t pray for things unless it’s important, like my sports teams. : ) ) I visited her a few weeks after delivery and held her baby and it was a truly healing experience. I guess the difference is is that I like this woman and the other women are just strangers to me… of them I admit I’m still jealous even though I’m like.. 28.2 weeks pregnant. My mother says I’m just jealous by nature. Could be true. DItto Aurelia on the stork, although it would be cute to see one flying to your house with a lil’ bundle of joy. And if something went wrong we could blame the stork and not ourselves, which might make grieving easier.

  10. I’m with missing one in that I always breathe a huge sigh of relief, feel extraordinarily happy, and then the sad feelings hit. Happy for them, but still wondering, “why not my babies?”

  11. you made me laugh too…maybe the old wives really were on to something. the stork would be a damn fine invention in the baby department, i think!

    i know, for myself, that when i reached that point where i was able to feel relief and joy at another’s successful, uneventful birth – as opposed to the “why not me?” pain that had accompanied births in the interim – i found a lot of peace and healing. not that i still don’t sometimes feel both, or twinges of the “why not me?” and the shock that others aren’t as worried as me (about them!), but…i hope that some of that healing is part of this for you, as well.

Leave a Reply

