What are you thinking?

All went well at the doctor’s office. Cervix still just as long. That absolutely amazes me.

It was the longest appointment, ever, most of it spent in the waiting room. I think it was a rough morning for the doctor – lots of women in the waiting room and for the first 20-25 minutes we were there no one got called back. Finally, a woman about as pregnant as I am and her husband came out looking pale and shocked, and the woman said to the receptionist: “We have to go to Labor & Delivery.” I wanted to shrink into the chair and I wanted all the other happy pregnant women who’d brought their children to shut up, too. My blood pressure was 130 something over 70 instead of its usual 90/60 when we finally got into a room – that look on expectant parents’ faces and those words have a profound effect on me, apparently. How I hope it’s a false alarm for them, but I’ll never know, of course.

The first couple to finally go back was this pair I can only describe as ornery teenagers. She was probably further a long than me so imagine my surprise when she left with the initial prenatal visit bag. The boy was wearing a t-shirt that read, “Recycle old girlfriends.” I suppose I should just stick my nose in a magazine and stop being so observant in the waiting room.

8 responses to “What are you thinking?

  1. Oh, that sucks so bad… Watching someone take their first, tentative steps down this path we all walk is hard. Knowing there is nothing you can do, and that right at the moment you may be adding to their hurt and distress is even worse.

    Glad the cervix is cooperating. Next check in another two weeks?

  2. I know. Sometimes, the rare moments when I’m out in public, I’ll see someone quickly look away or turn down a different aisle in the store, and I feel a pang.

    I’m sooo glad the cervix is cooperating. Better than I felt entitled to hope for, actually.

    We get a bonus cervix check next week – Monday I have my Level II big ultrasound, and then my next regular appointment happens two weeks from now.

  3. Excellent about the bonus one. Does level II mean we all get to find out who you’ve got in there?

  4. Congratulations on the cervix! (Boy, I can honestly say that is the first time I’ve ever typed that!!) I’m sorry you had a rough time in the waiting room. I’ll say a prayer for the couple.. actually both couples. I have a hard time in waiting rooms too. Either people are too happy or.. I don’t know. I’m always just so nervous before going in that I like everyone just to be quiet.

  5. Glad to hear your cervix is still long! Tough day yesterday and in the waiting room. Hang in there. 🙂

  6. congrats on the cervix!!

    And very sorry to hear about the couple in the OB’s office. I too hope it was a false alarm.

  7. Ugh… waiting rooms. That sounds hard.

    I am so happy that all is still well!! Thank you for keeping us posted, and I am excited to hear about next week’s BIG ultrasound too!!

  8. Yay for the cervix! The waiting room is so hard. My reg OB sends their patients to the high-risk OB for their u/s, so that waiting room is a mixed bag for me. Too many chirpy couples, unaware of those of us that are high-risk. Then at the regular OB’s there are usually too many newborns.

    I’m glad things are going well so far!

Leave a Reply

