Dilemma

So I have a dilemma about my old blog. I want to write that “last post,” but I can’t seem to be dishonest. I considered, for example, writing that I wasn’t finding blogging therapeutic, but I don’t want to misrepresent my feelings since actually, blogging has been my anchor at times. I also considered writing that I felt the need to take my feelings off the web and make them private, but that too is misleading. Finally, I thought about writing that I need to dedicate more of my attention to my dissertation, so am taking a hiatus, but that seemed unfair to the memory of Natan. This is an absurd question — and soo historian of me, wanting to preserve some sort of integrity in my source. Am I the only one out there who considers what someone in the future will extrapolate about from my writing? I don’t have the sense that I ought to be an artist, clearly, since what I write closely resembles stream of consciousness.

I think instead I’ll just stay silent for a bit.

Hey, look at this site I literally stumbled upon: http://www.wowrussia.com. Later this week, I’m going to tell you about  Cheburashka and Gena.

8 responses to “Dilemma

  1. I know that I’m new here, so ignore my a$$vice, if not appropriate. What if you don’t end your other blog? Post a lot less, but post things that can be duplicated from here. Just a thought?

  2. I’m agreeing with Thrice. Thalia had a similar problem and she kept posting small posts here and there until the other person stopped reading.

    Just barely nothing. Set comments so that you have to approve them, and as for the other person commenting from work or emailing you? The university IT people will absolutely take care of that. She has no right to harass you. They can block her from her work account to yours, or redirect them so that there is a record, but you don’t have to deal with it. And you can block her gmail account, or set it to forward to another account so you don’t have to see it unless you want to look at it.

    Ask for help…trust me, computer geeks have solutions to this that she’s NEVER thought of.

  3. I was wondering when the academic in you was going to speak on this… What happens if you just leave it hanging as is? Presumably at some later point you will make this place accessible to search engines, so future historians will find the two blogs and put it together. And if you don’t, maybe some years later you can out a pointer from there to here. But yeah, I thought it would be too hard for you to lie.

  4. I probably missed something into why you moved your blog here S, and I don’t know how people can maintain one blog much less two. Sometimes deciding which pair of shoes to wear in the morning is enough for me! If you are being harassed by a person, I agree with Aurelia, there are ways IT can deal with them. I look forward to your future posts!

  5. Wow. Good suggestions all. Thanks.

  6. Yay, I found you! Wait, you’re being harrassed? Why do people suck?! Yeah, I don’t think you need to say anything on your old blog necessarily. Especially if you don’t feel free to be open.

  7. I’m glad you left the old blog up so that I — when I finally got over my not wanting to bother you by posting any pesky questions re: your absence — *could* post, and then get a reply from you. I’m so sorry you’ve had to go through all of this.

  8. Yeah, it was a difficult decision – I emailed regular commenters who have email addresses attached but I was afraid initially to leave comments on other blogs in case she was lurking. I’m glad you did post!

Leave a Reply

