Short break

Today’s earlier post came off as rather more of a tragic relation than I meant. I mostly intended to make the point I ended with, about feeling happy that all the good and the bad led me to Josh. But I guess I surrounded it with a bit too much drama for that to come across clearly.

I’m exhausted but I can’t sleep. Perhaps this is a pregnancy thing? I’ve read others complaints about insomnia.

I made a decision today, and we’ll see where it ends up. I decided that I don’t want to go on the job market yet. I want to put it off a year because the amount of work facing me in the next 9 months seems rather unbearable with that added commitment. I think I could do it, but that I’ll be even more of a loony stress case. I wrote an email to sane adviser to test the waters before telling the other one. We shall see what she says. This of course raises the question of what I’ll do next year for money. Don’t ask me that now – worrying about it will be entirely counterproductive to my decision to be a little easier on myself for awhile.

In any case, with Yom Kippur Friday-Saturday, and me feeling the need to get some serious work done in the next few days, I’m going to take a blog break until Monday or Tuesday.

If you sense a seriously grumpy tone in this post, don’t worry. I’m perfectly fine. It’s just that I’m usually asleep two hours ago.Ā  And actually I think I’ve reached the point where I will be sleeping about 10 minutes from now.

12 responses to “Short break

  1. I wouldn’t put it off. Go on the market now. You may find that the amount of work necessary is not as much as you think it is. Yes it is extremely stressful but most of that is psychological rather than actual work, if you know what i mean. You can always withdraw from the process later if you can’t handle it — and you may be able to handle it. I would just be afraid that if you put it off, you will not be able to get anything at all.

    But that’s just my take on it, and your field is different than mine, so maybe putting it off for a year is the right thing to do. Listen to the advice of your sane advisor. I always listen to my advisor, that is what they are for šŸ˜‰

  2. see, i say let it go. work will be there, eventually. academia is such that even if you pass up one opportunity there will be another, somewhere, sometime, if you guys are still willing to move. the money thing…definitely hard, but is it easy to pick up sessional teaching where you happen to be right now?

    i guess it all depends on how job searching sits with you, emotionally. for me, it’s one of the most stressful, emotionally wrenching processes in life, other than pregnancy. and combining the two, for me, turned out very very badly, so i speak totally through my own lens. whereas thinking hey, i can live broke for a bit and pick up crappy work here and there and survive, but focus on health and baby and spirit…that’s the choice i’d have to make in order to get any sleep.

    so i say good decision. but so long as you’re at peace with it, either path could be a fine decision…we all handle change and stress in our own ways.

    i hope you got to sleep and slept well.

  3. I’m probably more like you Bon – but it’s honestly less the market than the fact that I’m having to work way too fast on my diss to make up for the time I lost in the winter. If I’m less than ideally productive for one day, I feel like hell about it.

    Josh is still on the market, and I figure I’ll pick up something wherever we go. I just want to enjoy my life a bit once/if the baby gets here, rather than simply feel like, “alrighty, that’s done” and have to get back to full days of work right away.

    Alright. That’s it. I’ve had my “coffee” and should get to work.

  4. Given what I myself am doing now, I think you know what I think. As long as Josh takes a job in a major metropolitan area, you should be ok both for getting something a year later and for picking something up for money in the meantime. (And if you guys end up in MY major metropolitan area, double bonus for me… he-he.) For myself, I do worry about being out of the market for long, which is why I am interviewing for another post-doc level position in three weeks, but my area is so small and specialized that it’s really lucky when any position of any quality opens, so that should be entirely different for you.

  5. Definitely take a blog break, and don’t make a decision right this second about the job market. In fact, seeing as you are very very close to delivery, I wonder if that might be coloring your decision?

    Talk to your advisor, and a couple of other profs you respect as well. Then wait until you get some rest and feel a bit caught up. And please ignore us. You are growing a baby, and sleep & peacefulness is more important than anything else.

    After you feel better, THEN decide what you want to do. (((Take Care)))

  6. No opinion about the job market decision, just a question. If you put off going on the job market for a year and Josh gets a job, does that mean that you’d both be on the market again next year or that you would limit your search to jobs in the area where Josh was working?

  7. Break time – Niobe, either or both. It would depend upon the job that Josh got and where it is. If he gets a non-tenure track position or a job in Podunk town with no other colleges or universities in the area, we’d probably both look again regardless. That could happen regardless of whether I’m on the market or not since we’re not willing to be positioned much more than an hour or so apart.

    My not going on the market this year doesn’t really create any new problems in terms of us finding work together. One of the major benefits of me taking extra time off the market, in fact, is that I can make myself a much stronger candidate in that time.

  8. It sounds, from what you’ve shared, that taking a year off from academic job searching would be highly beneficial. In any case, I hope your weekend and Yom Kippur are both productive *and* relaxing.

  9. I think this makes sense to me. I am in the middle of taking a year off, so I think I will be working next year (regardless of what happens). This year off was to basically take care of myself and try to deal with this grieving thing. I feel a lot stronger now. I’m sure you will feel the same (giving yourself the time). Jobs will always be there for you. But I think it makes a lot of sense to be the best candidate you can be. I’m trying to do the same thing myself.

    Take care on your blogging break!

  10. I just want to say that I hope you have a restful weekend. Breaks, of all kinds, are good now and then.

    I will be looking forward to hearing from you when you return.

  11. Getting rest is the priority right now and I do hope you get plenty. Everything looks differently once you are refreshed. Ultimately, you need to decide what is best for you and your family. I’d keep all the options on the table but thats me.

    Hope you enjoy your blog break. You know, I started reading you since before you were pregnant and somehow I feel like following you through this whole experience has made this baby a part of all of us – guess I am feeling a bit paternal šŸ™‚

  12. I don’t have any job market advice, having never been there myself, but I have found it very important to do what is right for me, even if others disagree. Congratulatiosn on having made a decision, and I hope things go well with your advisor.

Leave a Reply

