Over and out

That was a phenomenally unpleasant experience. I had scarred over the stitch, so it took a very long time and a lot of, for lack of a better word, digging to get it out. But it’s done, I’m a bit sore, and a lot exhausted. I am 2cm dilated and 50% effaced, which is just fine with me. If we even make it past Saturday, I will be more than ready.

Since I can now engage in as much activity as I want, I would like, however, to make it through Friday since my nieces and nephew are hopefully coming to town – something I’ve been waiting for my sister to get around to for years.

Right now I need to find some crappy holiday TV and rest.

Powered by ScribeFire.

20 responses to “Over and out

  1. Ow, that sounds so painful. Is there a word that describes a simultaneous grin/grimace? Because reading your post I was grimacing about the cerclage but also so happy to see you have reached this point that I couldn’t help but smile. (My cheeks have now had a little aerobic workout.)

    Wishing you and yours a safe and happy holiday.

  2. Um, ow, but yay!

  3. I hope you have a great holiday and I’ll be checking in daily. You are almost there. To me, on the outside, your pregnancy seemed to zoom by, but I’m sure it dragged for you. It must seem surreal to be this close after all the waiting. Congratulations.

  4. Oy!
    Glad it’s over then. I have some leftover desert I am sure would help in the holiday TV watching department. Too bad I can’t run it over to you.
    Enjoy the veg-out.

  5. I’m so glad you are done with that thing. At least now you know the baby is healthy and ready to be born and there will be no more suspense or issues or anything, right? Here we are, READY to ROCK!

    Happy Turkey Day!

  6. Exactly Aurelia. Because had I had to go through that while actually in labor, holy shit. I’d have been begging for the epidural.

  7. I’m glad it’s out and it won’t be long now! Take care.

  8. Oh, that sounds incredibly painful…..yes, it sounds like it won’t be long now! So exciting!!!

  9. Ouch! I’m glad things are progressing positively, though. Have a great (and still restful) holiday!

  10. Oh OW! Glad that part is over for you, and excited you are this close to holding you wee man in your arms!

  11. Erin, Birdies Mama

    OUCHIE!

    wow….ok lets get things moving! Oh my now your on your way Mama!
    It won’t be long now sweetie! I AM SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!!!

  12. you know, i was afraid you’d say that…(about the scarring over, and the hurting, and the phenomenal unpleasantness. ack.)

    and yet, all good, and let me add to the chorus of “wheee! so excited!”

    enjoy your freedom, and hopefully your family time on friday. or, y’know, labour. whatever comes first. 😉

  13. Erin, Birdies Mama

    one more thing….yes make sure you are able to rest, rest rest!
    even when you think you don’t need it. I also suggest you should eat a few carby meals…this will help to store some extra energy for labor. Also stay super hydrated…..oh, and make sure to bring some electrolyte type drinks to hospital with you…they can help when labor gets going! Oh and snack bars, LUNA bars are great….cause you probably won’t want to eat much.

    Can you tell I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited for you!

  14. Get some rest. It really sounds as if it won’t be long now.

  15. ouch, that sounds painful!
    I hope everything goes smoothly now, and while I understand that you’re looking forward to your nieces and nephews visiting, I’m sure they’d come another day if you happen to be in labor tomorrow, and welcome their little cousin.

  16. Ouch!! I hope you were able to get a good night’s sleep, and are feeling less sore today.

  17. I have a friend who had to have her cerclage removed in labor (her water broke). She basically said what you said. OUCH. I am glad it’s over for you, and I hope the babe scoots on out pretty soon!

    Luck! I can’t wait to hear the great news!

  18. i’m sorry that the removal was painful. ick. i am thinking of you!!

  19. Erin, Birdies Mama

    So, are you still there? Or are you having a BABY!

  20. Yep, still here.

Leave a Reply

