Another New Experience

Speaking of never ending stories. Josh, Samuel and I were preparing for our return home Wednesday when Samuel’s cold suddenly seemed a bit worse. We took him to an urgent care center. They sent us to an emergency room, slowly, took hours to be released, to get blood work. On the way to the hospital he suddenly got a lot worse, began to have trouble breathing. Thankfully, the ER responded immediately when he arrived and got him on oxygen and gave him a breathing treatment. He has RSV. We are now in a hospital in St. Louis. Fortunately, although we were told he would probably get worse before he got better, he hasn’t and we haven’t had another episode like in the car.

When I read the Wikipedia article, it seems to be describing symptoms a lot worse than he ever had. He never had a fever, got listless, or had a reduced appetite. I’m hopeful that means this will be a short-lived infection without long-lasting effects. Sort of hopeful, anyway. I’m more just trying to convince myself that Samuel at least can end up on the good side of the odds.

11 responses to “Another New Experience

  1. Oh, S, this is terrible. I will be hopeful with you, but it sucks that you are in this position in the first place.
    How long of a hospital stay are they saying?

  2. Until he can keep his oxygen level above 93 by himself during deep REM sleep. Right now he occasionally dips into the high 80s by himself. So I’m thinking at least until tomorrow.

  3. (taps microphone), Hello, is this thing on? Yes? Ahem. ATTENTION UNIVERSE: PLEASE QUIT FUCKING AROUND WITH THE SAME PEOPLE WHO YOU’VE ALREADY SCREWED OVER. YES, CHECK THE LIST, YOU ALREADY SCREWED THIS FAMILY, SEE? RIGHT THERE? YEAH. BREAK NEEDED. THANK YOU.

    B., can’t imagine what’s swimming through your head, but I’m wishing Samuel a very very speedy recovery. Please keep us posted. Will keep all of you in my thoughts.

  4. God gracious, i wish you could catch a break, this is ridiculous!!!

    Keeping you & Samuel in my thoughts & prayers.

  5. How terrifying. Hoping Samuel gets better very, very soon.

  6. Oh, I hope Samuel gets better in no time. You are in my thoughts.

  7. girl you get it every which way til tuesday (at least I think that’s the saying ha ha).

    Hopefully you guys are outta there shortly.
    A was a very sick baby, kid & whatever he is now…dare I say tween at 7? He had asthma due to allergies BUT they refused to diagnose him until he was 5, despite numerous hospital stays and respiratory infections every year starting at 6 months. He’s doing well now and I do remember the scary days of things I had never experienced before. You have added stress to that of course. I hope this scary experience becomes a bump in the road for you and very quickly.

  8. B, I hope Samuel is feeling better, very, very soon. Love and prayers to you all.

  9. Oh, I’m so sorry he’s got RSV, and having just gone through the whole hospital thing with Little A recently, can sympathize regarding how scary that can be for the parents. He’s so young, so you must have been especially scared.

    Here’s hoping Samuel continues on a steady trajectory toward healing from here on out.

  10. I’ve been praying for you guys endlessly. Just noticed what you wrote in the comments about his oxygen levels. god, I’m hoping this never happens to us now. My husband’s family has a history of severe sleep apnea and as infants both my sons stopped breathing regularly during REM sleep. Or just any sleep. I kept them in my bed specifically because of this, so I could jog their feet.

    Anyway, now I’m really hoping you can get out of there!

  11. Oh, that just sucks!! I’m sorry. Which hospital are you at? I hope you didn’t say in your post, but at the old or the new hospital or a completely different one? I’m sure he will have a fast recovery and I’m sure you will be a great advocate for his care.

Leave a Reply

