“Home”

We’re back at Josh’s mom’s house. Samuel’s much better, still coughing a bit, but hopefully improving every hour/day. I don’t have to tell you all how much it sucked being in the hospital, and no one would be surprised to know we spent most of the day ready to be discharged but had to wait hours and hours and hours waiting for a take-home apnea monitor. Or that the representative from Apria was clueless and less than helpful – not to mention showing up late TWICE since when she first arrived she’d brought the wrong cord.

The apnea monitor sucks as well. Going off constantly because Samuel moves while sleeping, or because it thinks it is not attached to him.

About halfway through the day another baby came in with RSV. As she talked with the nurse, a difference between normal parents and us became very apparent. My emergency monitor is obviously set very low. She said her son had begun coughing a few days before, and that the night his coughing and breathing had become very scary so she called her doctor in the morning. She endured a night of scary breathing, Josh and I rushed to urgent care after one episode. I know everyone tells me that all parents worry, that all parents get scared when their little ones are sick, but I’m sure we still worry and get scared more than most.

So far my monitor has been correct, but I hope I don’t become like Samuel’s apnea monitor, disrupting and annoying him for no reason at all.

10 responses to ““Home”

  1. I think you did the right thing by taking him in. I’m with you on the “emergency monitor” thing. I’m glad that you are home (sorta). I hope Samuel is on the mend. Give him a kiss on the cheek for me!

  2. i had three babies under 6lbs home from the NICU and let me tell you, i’ve never worried about them more than since my baby died. it’s like i had this belief in the fact that kids don’t just die for no reason; the human body must be stronger and more resiliant than that, no? but now…now they go to the doc or ER immediately. am i paranoid? i don’t care.

  3. You will be more concerned than other moms, but who cares? In this case, you did the right thing, absolutely, and that other mother? She should never have waited so long, don’t know what the hell she was thinking. Brains need air to work, as my ped says!

    As for the monitor, they always do that, my ped hates them. Says she’d rather see moms sleep close by to their babies and seriously, they are much better at noticing when the baby stops breathing for real, than silly electronic things. even while sleeping, moms can hear. Weird, huh? It’s like we just have an instinct.

  4. Phew, glad you’re home, monitor notwithstanding. And yes we’re going to be more paranoid, and my ped can kiss my ass.

  5. I am with Aurelia– you don’t wait through the night if your baby is having trouble breathing. I have always been one of the calmest mothers I know, and I think that while my monitor probably got resent a bit higher this past year, it isn’t set to highest by any means, and I still think the woman was wrong to wait.
    Glad you are out of the hospital, and I hope you won’t need the monitor for too much longer.

  6. You totally did the right thing — breathing is super-important — and it is important to follow your instincts, to save yourself from anxiety as much as anything else. I’m so glad you are out of the hospital.

  7. Glad you are out of the hospital & he is better. Yes, so you/we worry more than most, but that is not bad. Heck, that’s what doctors are there for.

  8. I am so glad that Samuel is doing better. He is one lucky baby to have such conscientious, cautious parents. There is nothing wrong with a little healthy caution (even a lot of healthy caution!)

  9. Glad that you’re out of the hospital and Samuel is feeling better.

    Be as paranoid/worried as you want, I’m with Kate, that’s what the doctors are there for.

  10. Oh I have no doubt I did the right thing this time! I just hope I can manage to allow Samuel to ride a bike, go to friends’ houses, and just in general live life without me over his shoulder.

Leave a Reply

