Ouch; or, the Hard Way to Lose That Last 7 Pounds

So those of you blessed with knowing my whiny self might know that I’ve had a hell of a time getting back down to my pre-Natan pregnancy weight. In fact, I sometimes felt like I was holding on to that last 7 pounds as part of my grief. I’m sure that sounds extreme, many many women hold onto some weight post-pregnancy, but for some reason I felt particularly anxious over it. I’d ask myself, “Is that Natan’s 7 pounds, or Baby Man’s 7 pounds?” Which is a silly question, and one that only enters my mind at random moments, and then is pushed out again as I’m aware of its absurdity.

I also thought about that weight, wondering if I should lose it as part of my preparations for a next pregnancy, or rather as an acknowledgment that my childbearing days are over.

Well, those questions are moot for the moment. Although of course it could easily return, but then what kind of weight is it?

They are moot right now because I’ve lost 14 pounds! in the past three weeks. I have no idea why. Only that if I eat something more substantial than carrrots, apples, blueberries, potatoes or plain toast, it passes through me in the most unpleasant manner.

The pain started about 6 weeks ago, actually, but it was sharp only at moments, and the doctor blamed it on a burst ovarian cyst. Now we’re thinking maybe gall bladder, and I’ve had a battery of tests to determine that. I don’t fit the profile for a bad gall bladder in any way, but the symptoms sound like it.

An awful lot of drama for a not so special problem, but it irks me. And is making it hard to function and work on a normal basis.

4 responses to “Ouch; or, the Hard Way to Lose That Last 7 Pounds

  1. I hope you get the test results back soon and that they show something easily resolved. (And that once resolved the pounds stay off too….. 🙂

  2. Ouch, could it be related to the diabetes insipidus issue? I mean, if it is your gall bladder, could the diabetes thing have done this?

    I’m so sorry that the weight loss had to happen this way. Crap.

  3. Oh, boy. Hope you are going to the big city for those tests. It sounds awful, and I’m so sorry you’re still dealing with this after 3 weeks.

    Two weeks post-partum, I was down at least 15 lbs from my pregnancy weight. I never gained weight during the pg, so that brought me down to a weight I hadn’t seen in almost 20 years. Not a good thing. Of course, then, food is comfort so I noshed on cookies and chips with dip or salsa almost continuously for about a year. Not great for the waistline either. I more than made up for the losses. Working on rectifying that now, almost a year later.

    Long way of saying: I get what you mean about those pounds. Tricky business, this.

    Hope you’re feeling better very soon.

  4. Aurelia, I don’t know. I’ll throw that out there next time I call the doctor.

Leave a Reply

