and….we’re done

Jonah Melvin’s here. He’s 8 lb., 9 oz, 20 inches long. Delivery was
fast, but good lord, overwhelming! I was on pitocin from about 8:30am.
Doctor H. came in to see me at 12:30, found me still barely 4cm,
broke my water, and went off to do a hysterectomy. About 30 minutes
later I called the nurse and said, “My contractions feel weird, it
just feels like the baby’s just crashing against my bottom.” She came in,
did an exam, and said, “You’re 6 cm.” Before she even walked out the
door, I had the most incredible urge to push, really incredible. I
called her back in and said, “I don’t know what’s going on but I feel
like I can’t keep myself from pushing. I think I’m going to need an
epidural or I’m not going to be able to control myself.”

She went off to do the order, and I was like, “OH MY GOD, I
need to push.” I was really, really freaking out. She came back in,
felt me again, and was like, “Woah–The baby’s coming right now!” Another
doctor had to run in. I’m seriously amazed at how fast
he got there. Jonah was born at 1:33pm. I suppose shortly I shall be
grateful for a fast labor, and I wish I could say I was brave, but in
the middle of it I was really freaking terrified it felt so out of
control and I was completely convinced my body was going to strangle
him. I feel so incredibly lucky he was safely positioned for such a speed race.

Phew. But it’s done, and we’re all doing fine. He’s really bruised up from the speed of it all, but they
say he’s okay.

12 responses to “and….we’re done

  1. Oh! ohOh!!! Wondrous out of all wonder! Or something like that. Okay, apologies for babbling nonsense! So very happy for you all. Jonah is a fabulous name. One of mine was Jonah all the way through until his birth when I took one look at him and said: ” you are not a Jonah, your name is Elijah!” Anyway. So happy for you 🙂

  2. Many, many congratulations to you and your family. Enjoy the newborn snuggles with Jonah!

  3. Mazel tov! A beautiful name. Sounds like a crazy delivery. I hope you are recovering well and snuggling your new son.

  4. YIPPEE!!! WELCOME, wee (?) Jonah! (Not so wee, there!)

    (This is painfully reminding me of Ale’s birth, which was also fast and I went from 0-60 in about 45 minutes. The good news, hopefully, is that the recovery is equally as fast. Wishing you a speedy one!)

  5. Congratulations! Very happy to hear the news 🙂

  6. I love his name! But wow, sounds like a crazy arrival. I have to know–has the itching stopped?!? Also, I’m excited to hear how Samuel feels about being a big brother. I hope recovery goes smoothly and I’m so happy for you, Sara (and Josh).

  7. Congratulations! That was a speedy delivery, I hope you both recover soon.

  8. Congratulations!! I said it on FB but i will also say it here! I’m so happy for you all!

  9. Mazal Tov (again :)).
    How’s day 2? Are you feeling a bit less shell-shoked today?

  10. Congratulations! So happy to read he is safely here! 🙂

  11. Just catching up. CONGRATS! So happy he is doing well!

Leave a Reply

